Recipe: Eggy Breakfast Muffins

I saw a meme the other day that said “I always think that people who eat breakfast have really got their lives together.”  Well, I am so not together, but I sure wish I was.

I have a terrible habit of either no breakfast, or really bad ones.  When I first wake up, I’m too out of it and way too nauseated by the idea of food to eat.  By the time I’ve gotten dressed I can usually handle breakfast, but only if it’s hot.  Cereal and yogurts, other cold things send me straight back to the nauseated stage.  Gar and I aren’t big bread eaters (by dietary choice, jeez if I had my way I’d eat twelve rounds of buttery toast every morning!) so we rarely if ever had bread in the house which means even quick cheese sandwiches are out of the question.  Eggs always go down well, but I value that extra twenty minutes in bed too much to get up early enough to cook a plate of them.

So the long and short of it is, I either don’t eat breakfast, or worse, I get a McBreakfast and feel heavy, sick, bloated and run down for the rest of the day (McDonald’s is the devil!).

What I really need is a quick, easy, warm breakfast that doesn’t involve heaps of calories – and if there’s a good level of protein involved, all the better.  That’s how I came up with this recipe.

Eggy Breakfast Muffins

I may have tried one as soon as they were out of the oven. . .all in the name of ensuring it was a good recipe, of course!
I may have tried one as soon as they were out of the oven. . .all in the name of ensuring it was a good recipe, of course!

Makes 12 muffins, approx. 125 calories each

 Time: 30 minutes including baking time

You will need:

  • 8 large, free-range eggs
  • 6 back rashers (bacon), fat trimmed off and chopped into small pieces
  • 1/2 cup broccoli, cut into fairly small pieces
  • 1/2 white onion, finely chopped
  • 1/3 bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 green chili, finely chopped
  • 1 cup mushrooms, halved and thinly sliced
  • 1/3 cup grated cheese
  • 1/4 cup semi skimmed milk
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp chives
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180* (350*F).
  2. In a pan, fry off the rashers with the broccoli, onion, pepper, mushrooms and chili.
  3. Once that is cooked, set aside and combine the eggs, milk, cumin, paprika, chives, salt and pepper and beat until combined.
  4. Liberally spray a 12 hole muffin tin with cooking spray or alternatively grease accordingly.  DO NOT skimp on greasing the tin, otherwise your egg muffins will be difficult to retrieve.
  5. Divide the rasher and vegetable mix evenly between the muffin cups, then top each with a pinch of cheese.
  6. Pour the egg mixture into each of the muffin cups (do not fill them more than 3/4 full).
  7. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes.

The great thing about these egg muffins is that you can store them for eating later.  Just let them cool completely, cover and refrigerate and they should be good for several days.  They warm up a treat in the microwave (30-60 seconds or so) and at only 125 calories each, you can afford to have one sliced up on a piece of toast if you would prefer a heartier breakfast.

Here’s hoping that as long as I’ve made these guys the Sunday before work, I can at least pretend to be a little more of a together person as I eat my 30 seconds breakfast before work during the following week.

Eggcelsior!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Eggy Breakfast Muffins

Leave a Reply

