Recipe: Roasted Pork Joint with Butter, Apple and Mustard

I love autumn in all its firey-treed, brisk-weathered and dead leafed glory, and I find myself more inspired than usual, which is great with NaNoWriMo coming up!

We had friends over for dinner this past weekend and I found myself wanting to make a meal that was a loving homage to autumn. I wouldn’t normally bother with making three course dinners unless it was a really special occasion, but like I said, inspiration struck!

I started with my “Autumn Orange Soup”. With cumin and a touch of warming cayenne, it’s a perfect accompaniment to those cool breezes! For dessert I serve up my Sweet Potato Spice Cake, and the only regret I have about it is that I didn’t have any cinnamon ice cream to hand! One of these days, I’m going to buy an ice cream maker, invest in a cinnamon production company (or however they get it from tree to my face) and just live on salmon sashimi and cinnamon ice cream.

Ah dreams.

Dinner had my a bit stymied though, I have to admit. I wanted to do something seasonal but still delicious. In the end, I settled on roast pork, because who doesn’t love a slow roasted pork joint? I couldn’t decide what to do with it though. I went through my recipe books, looked online, wracked my brain but nothing seemed to work. Then it hit me. I was way overthinking this. The KISS principle doesn’t just sound good, it’s a great strategy, and this was definitely one of those times to Keep It Simple (stupid).

I had a sweet Braeburn apple, just waiting for me to do something with it, so it hit me that if I peeled, cored and shredded that apple, then mixed it in with some butter, I would have the means for a very tasty roast. Still, it lacked something. It wasn’t until I opened the fridge to query its contents that the answer hit me –almost literally- on the head. Wholegrain mustard. It would add a bit of kick and tone down the sweetness of the apple, but still compliment the pork.

I combined them into a squidgy mess and smeared it over my pork roast, then baked it slowly. About half way through cooking a tray of garlic cloves, wild carrots, parsnip, mushroom and brusselsprouts just tossed in a little salt and olive oil joined my pork joint.

I’m not a fan of meat and sweet, or meat and fruit together, but when I took the first bit of that pork with its mustardy apple crust, I became an instant convert.

In other words, it was well nice.

Roasted Pork Joint with Butter, Apple and Mustard

Serves 4, Approx. 150 calories per 100g slice

Time: 2 hours, including resting

You will need:

  • 1kg free range, organic pork roast
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • ½ c butter
  • 1 Braeburn apple, peeled, cored and finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp whole grain mustard

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 160*c (320*F).
  2. Remove the joint from it wrapping/packaging and pat it dry with a paper towel.
  3. Sprinkle the flour over the joint in a very fine dusting, tapping off any excess.
  4. Mix the butter, apple and mustard together and rub the mixture on the pork. Drying and flouring the joint will allow the butter to stick, though it may need patching here and there with any left over butter.
  5. Wrap the joint in aluminium foil and roast in the oven for 1 hour.
  6. Unwrap the aluminium foil and roast the joint for a further 30 minutes.
  7. When the joint has finished cooking, let it rest for at least 10 minutes before slicing.
Leave a Reply

